Collide Magazine (deals with media and the church), just did a profile on the kind of tools various church leaders use in their day to day ministries.  Then, the Christ and Pop Culture blog posted David Dunham’s list, and I thought it was a good idea.  So, here goes:

1.  iPhone 3gs–keeps everything in one place.  Keep my schedule, email, music, contacts, etc. all there in a manner that doesn’t complicate life for me.  Plus, I can play NFS Underground and Tiger Woods Golf anytime I want!

2. Macbook Pro–I wear a lot of different hats at my church, and my MB Pro handles the diversity of assignments well for the most part.

3. Logos Bible Study Software for Mac and iPhone–still in beta for mac but keeps getting better.  And now, I can access my library on my phone.

4. iWork–under-appreciated office suite by mac. Keynote is the best presentation builder out there and pages combines the love of multiple design and word processing programs into on little package.  Not the most powerful, but they both just work!

5.  French press and small pot to warm coffee–nothing more needs to be said about that one

6.  Facebook–easiest way for me to keep in touch with almost all our youth and young adults that I serve with.  And a great way to communicate with our supporters back in America to keep them connected without always having to write personal notes.  Sounds terrible I know, but it’s tough keeping up with everyone

7. Amazon Kindle–I love it.  It has saved the day for me as a pastor living in a region where you buy a cheap book then pay twice as much to ship it.  That is no longer an issue.

8. Evernote–I’m not the most organized guy in the world.  This little app connects my notes from everywhere and keeps me together.

9.  Moleskine–been using them for 9 years, still prefer to write down my thoughts first.  I’m partial to the plain notebook.  No lines to get in the way.

10.  Faber Castell Pencils–who really cares that much about something we’ve used since grade school?  Me!  I’ve lived in Hong Kong for 5 years without finding a single pencil that had a working eraser connected to it.  Finally, I found the old standby.  Yep, they’re that good!

I reserve the right to change, add, delete as I see fit.  What’s on your list?

