I’m firmly into my second week of sermon prep for our August series on Jonah, that infamous prophet.  I snuck home a little early  because the construction noise at my office was a little more out of control than normal.

It’s not been easy to keep my oldest and middle kids entertained without the tv when I get home.  So tonight, out we went to try to clean up our back yard jungle.  Daddy has let it get a little more out of control than he should have.

My lack of attention to horticulture proved a highly interactive way to have some fun with the kids! We pulled weeds, we sprayed daddy (I mean watered the flowers), trimmed the palms, and made a mess.  It was good, dirty fun.

After showers, and Isaiah’s bedtime, Izzy turned her attention to ballet.  She chose to dance to Vivaldi tonight.  Absolutely beautiful!  How a five year old can already feel the music and interpret it in her own unique way blows my mind.

Now I’m sitting down, watching a movie and contemplating Jonah 1 & 2.  The story about a guy who ran for God for the comfort of a far off life.  Far from the presence of God (Jonah 1:3).  Lately, in all the chaos of life, there have been days when I’ve quietly reminisced about how much simpler things were back in the day.  In all reality, I’m saying maybe my ways are better than the ways God has laid out before me.

I seem to find it difficult to savor the time God has placed right in front of me. I’ve got these beautiful kids, a church starting to wake up and get excited about the Lord and more opportunities to serve than I can keep up with.

My own personal Tarshish has nothing on the life that’s placed before me right now.

